Spammed by A Small Orange
Wednesday, January 13th, 2010So, what do to when a web hosting company which is apparently tough on spam decides to spam you? Tough call. I received 9 copies of the following e-mail:
Return-Path:
Delivered-To: *REMOVED*@preterhuman.net
Received: (qmail 27836 invoked by uid 1008); 8 Jan 2010 04:13:03 -0800
Received: from thelookingglass.asmallorange.com (75.127.98.98)
by mirage.preterhuman.net with AES256-SHA encrypted SMTP; 8 Jan 2010 04:13:03 -0800
Received: from thelookingglass.asmallorange.com (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by thelookingglass.asmallorange.com (8.13.8/8.13.8) with ESMTP id o08CLIaP028166
for <*REMOVED*@preterhuman.net>; Fri, 8 Jan 2010 07:21:18 -0500
Received: (from root@localhost)
by thelookingglass.asmallorange.com (8.13.8/8.13.8/Submit) id o08CLIOP028165;
Fri, 8 Jan 2010 07:21:18 -0500
Date: Fri, 8 Jan 2010 07:21:18 -0500
Message-Id: <201001081221.o08CLIOP028165@thelookingglass.asmallorange.com>
To: *REMOVED*@preterhuman.net
Subject: Start your website today
From: A Small Orange
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="PHP-alt-2c0cb3f0914b17644d97af011efcc3a4"
I won’t bother posting up the actual HTML content, but you can see above how the e-mail was sent by their systems with the subject “Start your website today.” I’ve never dealt with this company in any way… Really makes you wonder about the lengths people will go to for business.